Source: News Bharati English18 Oct 2016 12:07:40

New Delhi, October 18: Bye-elections will be held to fill the vacancies of Parliament and Assembly constituency from seven states on November 19. The States of Assam, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu and Tripura will see the elections to fill the 4 vacant seats of Parliament and 8 vacant seats of State Assembly. 
The Assembly constituencies of each States which will see the bye-elections are as follows- Assam - Lakhimpur (Parliamentary Constituency), Baithalangso (Assembly Constituency), Arunachal Pradesh - Hayuliang (Assembly Constituency), Madhya Pradesh - Shahdol (Parliamentary Constituency) & Nepanagar (Assembly Constituency), West Bengal – Coochbehar (Parliamentary Constituency), Tamluk (Parliamentary Constituency) and Monteswar (Assembly Constituency).Tamil Nadu Thiruparankundram (Assembly Constituency), Tripura Barjala (Assembly Constituency), Khowai (Assembly Constituency), Puducherry Nellithope (Assembly Constituency).

After taking into consideration various factors like local festivals, electoral rolls, weather conditions etc, the commission has decided to undertake the whole election process from 26 October to 24 November. The Gazette notification will take place on 26 Oct with last date of nomination being 2 November. The next day i.e. 3 November has been decided as day for scrutiny of nomination.  Last date for withdrawal of candidature is 5th November. 19th November is set as the date of polls. The votes will be counted on 22 November and the whole election is scheduled to be completed by 24 November.  

The Commission has decided to use EVMs in the bye-elections in all the polling stations. Adequate numbers of EVMs have been made available and all steps have been taken to ensure that the polls are conducted smoothly with the help of these machines.

In consonance with the past practice, the Commission has decided that the voter’s identification shall be mandatory in the aforementioned bye- elections at the time of poll. Electoral Photo Identity Cards (EPIC) shall be the main document of identification of a voter. However, in order to ensure that no voter is deprived of his/her franchise, if his/her name figures in the Electoral Rolls, separate instructions will be issued to allow additional documents for identification of voters at the time of poll in the said bye-elections.