Source: News Bharati English05 Oct 2016 18:28:40

Sweden, Oct 5: The 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded jointly to researchers Jean-Pierre Sauvage, J. Fraser Stoddart and Bernard Feringa. They have bagged the international award for the design and synthesis of molecular machines.

A statement on the official website of the Nobel Prize said the trio worked on molecular machines -- controllable, nanometre-sized structures that can convert chemical energy into mechanical force and motion.

"They have developed molecules with controllable movements, which can perform a task when energy is added," the organization Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced this morning in Stockholm said in a statement. 

"It's not just a scientific family, it's almost a biological family," he said of his fellow laureates. "We're very close to each other." Sauvage, Stoddart and Feringa work in France, the U.S. and the Netherlands.

Trio will share the prize, which is worth about $1.2 million.The prizes will be handed out at ceremonies in Stockholm and Oslo on Dec. 10.