Source: News Bharati English25 Nov 2016 14:22:29

New Delhi, November 25: As a constructive and powerful attempt to uproot the problem of black money and corruption from public life, the government has formed a Committee of Officers to enable 100 per cent conversion of Government – Citizen Transactions to the digital platform. This is vital part of the Governments strategy to transform India into a cashless economy.
NITI Aayog CEO, Amitabh Kant will be leading the committee. The aim of the committee will be to identify and execute user-friendly digital payment options in all sectors of the economy as early as possible. The effort is to establish and monitor an implementation framework with strict timelines to ensure that nearly 80 per cent of the transaction in India moves to the digital-only platform.

The committee aims to identify various digital payment systems appropriate to different sectors of the economy and coordinate efforts to make them accessible and user-friendly. The committee will also identify and access infrastructural and bottlenecks affecting the access and utility of digital payment options.Embeded ObjectTo achieve expeditious movement into the cashless, digital payments economy across all States and sectors, it will engage regularly with Central Ministries, regulators, State governments, district administration, local bodies, and trade & industry associations etc. to promote rapid adoption of digital payment systems.

The committee will also make efforts to estimate costs involved in various digital payments options and oversee implementation of measures to make such transaction between Government and Citizens cheaper than cash transaction.

The Committee led by NITI Aayog will also implement an action plan on advocacy, awareness and handholding efforts among public, micro enterprises and other stakeholders. That apart, it will organize training and capacity building of various states/UTs, Ministries/Departments of the Government of India, representatives of States/UTs, Trade and Industry Bodies as well as other stakeholders.

Members of the Committee of Officers for driving a digital payments economy in India include Secretary, Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance; Secretary, Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology; Secretary, Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion; Secretary, Department of Investment and public Asset Management; MD & CEO, National Payments Corporation of India, Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development, Chairman, National Highways Authority of India, Adviser, NITI Aayog.