Source: News Bharati English27 Nov 2016 11:11:49

Moscow, November 27: World junior bronze-medalist Sachin Singh (49kg) on Saturday became only the third Indian boxer ever to strike gold at the AIBA Youth World Championships with a stunning victory over Cuban national champion Jorge Grinan in the summit clash at St Petersburg, Russia.

The historic win makes the 17-year-old just the third Indian to grab the yellow metal at this prestigious tournament, joining Thokchom Nanao Singh (49kg in 2008) and Vikas Krishan (60kg in 2010).

“It is a huge moment in my career. I fought five bouts in this tournament and I am glad I could give a performance like this. The Cuban was also good but it’s just that he could not trap me in his strategy. I never allowed him to get close to me.”

Rising boxer Sachin Singh will be given a cash award of Rs. 1 lakh for notching up an impressive victory in the finals of AIBA Youth World Boxing Championship. Representing India in men’s heavyweight 91 kg category was Naman Tanwar, who returns home with a bronze after he lost in the semi-finals against Pero of Cuba. Naman will be given a cash prize of Rs. 25,000 by BFI.

"Two of my fellow Indian boxers had lost to Cubans earlier in the tournament, I wanted to extract revenge and I am glad I could do it. It is very satisfying to beat stronger and better rivals, especially if it happens to be a Cuban," said Sachin.

India thus finished the tournament with gold and a bronze, a marked improvement from the solitary bronze won in the 2014 edition. Naman Tanwar (91kg) had settled for a bronze after losing in the semifinal on Saturday.

"Our young boxers Sachin and Naman have made India proud by winning medals in the Youth World Championships. I hope these cash awards will encourage them to do even better in future. This is the first step towards our country reclaiming its rightful place as a boxing power in the world," BFI President Ajay Singh said.

Sachin, 17, brings back victory to India after a long gap of six years. Vikas Krishnan was the last pugilist to have bagged gold in the 2010 edition.