Source: News Bharati English06 Nov 2016 09:39:03

Singapore, 6 November 2016: India beat China 2-1 in a sensational final encounter that showcased the Indian eves’ fighting spirit and determination to win the 4th Asian Champions Trophy. This is the first-time the Indian women’s team has won the Asian Champions Trophy. The first goal for India was scored by Deep Grace Ekka in the 13th minute which was equalized by Zhong Mengling in the 44th minute. In the dying minutes of the game, the second goal came from Deepika Thakur to give the Indian eves the formidable lead and the crown.

Going into the second quarter, India kept up the pressure by playing disciplined hockey, keeping their calm only to deny the Chinese a chance to equalize. However, the third quarter saw China’s Mengling Zhong penetrate the Indian circle to score a quick field goal. But the Indian eves were unrelenting and were playing the kind of hockey that had China on the back foot. China managed to earn their first PC of the match in the third quarter but failed to convert sending the ball way off the baseline.

 It was a do-or-die situation for India and it was their best chance to score. Deepika Thakur, the highest goal scorer of the tournament took the onus on to herself to convert a sensational goal with just 30 seconds to go for the final hooter, sending the Indian supports into bursts of cheers. This win was also the qualifying round for the 2017 Asia Cup.

 On this memorable occasion, Hockey India today also announced a cash prize of Rs 2.00 Lakhs the each for the players and the Chief Coach Neil Hawgood. Besides this Hockey India also announced Rs 1.00 Lakh for the other support staff of the team. Prize of Rs 1.00 Lakh was announced for Deepika Thakur – the Highest Scorer of the Tournament.

 Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated the Indian women's hockey team for winning the Asian Champions Trophy 2016. In a tweet, Mr Modi said, it is a great moment for Indian hockey.