India defeats Sri Lanka by 34 runs and bags Under-19 Asia Cup title
स्रोत: News Bharati English      तारीख: 24-Dec-2016

Colombo, December 24: India U-19 team registered a comprehensive win against Sri Lanka in the finals of Under-19 Asia Cup title and clinches the title. Like to tell you, that India defeated Sri Lanka by 34 runs in the final at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Friday.
India won the toss and elected to bat first and posted a competitive 273 for eight in their 50 overs. Prithvi Shaw (39) and Himanshu Rana shared a solid 67-run opening partnership. Rana, who had scored a fifty and a century in the league stages, continued his great form to notch up 71. He was given good support by Shubhman Gill, who smashed 70 and shared 88-run stand for the second wicket.

At 203/2, India were staring at a total of over 300 but some disciplined bowling from the Sri Lankans resulted in just 70 runs in the last 10 overs. Nipun Ransika and Praveen Jayawickrama picked up three wickets each as India ended up on 273/8. For Sri Lanka Under-19s, pacer Nipun Ransika (3/50) and left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama (3/53) shared six wickets between them.

Fall of Wickets for India:

67-1 (Prithvi Shaw, 11.2), 155-2 (Himanshu Rana, 28.1), 203-3 (Abhishek Sharma, 39.5), 224-4 (Shubman Gill, 43.3), 244-5 (Salman Khan, 46.1), 244-6 (Het Patel, 46.2), 245-7 (Priyam Garg, 46.5), 272-8 (Kamlesh Nagarkoti, 49.5).

Chasing 274 runs for win, Sri Lanka Under-19s lost opener Vishva Chathuranga (13) early before Reven Kelly (62) and Hasitha Boyagoda (37) stabilised their chase with a 78-run second wicket stand. Skipper Kamindu Mendis (53) also made half-century for the Lankans in the losing cause. The hosts at one stage were in control of the chase at 196 for four in 37.4 overs. As the match progressed, Sri Lankan lost the plot in the last 10 overs as their last six batsmen could contribute just 43 runs.

Abhishek Sharma (4/37) produced a brilliant display of slow left-arm orthodox bowling and was assisted by leggie Rahul Chahar, who returned with impressive figures of three for 22 from his quota of 10 overs to dismantle the Lankans.

Fall of Wickets for Sri Lanka:

27-1 (Vishva Chathuranga, 3.1), 105-2 (Hasitha Boyagoda, 18.1), 158-3 (Reven Kelly, 30.2), 196-4 (Krishan Arachchige, 37.4), 201-5 (Ashen Bandara, 40.2), 211-6 (Kamindu Mendis, 42.3), 225-7 (Hareen Weerasingha, 44.6), 225-8 (Jehan Daniel, 45.1), 225-9 (Nipun Ransika, 45.3), 239-10 (Praveen Jayawickrama, 48.4).

Embeded ObjectFor outstanding performance in match Abhishek Sharma was named as Man of the Match whereas Himanshu Rana was named as Man of the Series.

Notably, this was India’s second win in the Asia Cup under-19 cricket tournament, having won the title in 2013/14 by defeating Pakistan by 40 runs and sharing the trophy in the first edition held in Malaysia in 2012/13.