Maharashtra boys bag winners' trophy at National Lagori tournament
स्रोत: News Bharati English      तारीख: 04-Dec-2016

Bhopal, Dec 4: Boys’ team from Maharashtra won the national trophy in Lagori at the national level competitions held at Bhopal recently. The girls’ team came third at the same sports competition.

Addressing the prize distribution function Madhya Pradesh Education Minister Kunwar Vijay Shah said that Lagori will be made a compulsory game in all 1,188 schools in the state. The schools that would not follow the orders would lose their recognition, he warned.

He praised Secretary of Bharatiya Lagori Organization Santosh Gurav for promoting the traditional games.

The 62nd Lagori competitions promoted by Bharatiya Lagori Organization were held jointly by Madhya Pradesh Public Education Directorate and School Game Federation of India at Bhopal recently. The event was inaugurated with lighting the traditional lamp at the hands of State Education Minister.

Bhopal Mayor Alok Sharma, Santosh Gurav, Deputy Director B B Saxena and other dignitaries were present on the occasion. They were given a guard of honour by the participating teams.

The Boys’ team of Maharashtra played well and dominated the tournaments by bagging top position. The Girls’ team. However, came third. The Boys team defeated the Goa team in a thrilling match and won the trophy. Goa team became the runners-up while Vidya Bharati and Telangana teams came third.

In the Girls’ teams, the Delhi team topped the tournament while Goa came second and Maharashtra and Gujarat teams were restricted at the third position only.

The prize distribution was held in presence of the Director of Bhopal Public Education Department D S Kushwah, Deputy Director B B Saxena, Technical officer of SGFI, Santosh Gurav, Bhopal DEO D K Sharma, Principal Sunita Saxena, and Anand Sharma of MP Lagori Organization.

Ashwini Malaviya, Sonali Malusare, Hemant Pawar, Vala Shankaram, Ramniwas, Jat, Bharat Gurav, Avinash Sawant, Sharmila Varik, Datta Gite, Anand Sharma and Durgesh were the referees in the tournament.

The winning team members were congratulated by President Aniket Tatkare, Raigarh District Sports Officer Mahadev Kasgavade and other dignitaries.