#Siachentragedy:  Mortal remains of 9 bravehearts reach Delhi; Army Chief Dalbir Singh pays homage
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 15-Feb-2016

Palam, February 15: Mortal remains of nine soldiers who were buried alive in Siachen Avalanche were brought at Palam Airport in New Delhi from Leh this morning. Earlier, Leh Corps Commander paid his tributes to the nine Siachen Martyrs at a solemn function at Leh. Chief of the Army Staff, General Dalbir Singh Suhag and senior army officials and other dignitaries paid homage to the brave-hearts at the Delhi Airport.The brave-hearts were killed on February 3 when an avalanche had struck their post, burying ten soldiers under 25 feet of snow. Naik Hanamanthapa was found alive after remaining under snow for six days, bodies of the nine other soldiers were retrieved a week after the incident. The rescued soldier, Lance Naik Hanamanthapa, also succumbed to hypothermia among other ailments at Research and Referral Hospital at New Delhi on Thursday morning.

The mortal remains of the soldiers, however, could not be transferred to their native places as bad weather had made flying out of Siachen area impossible. Mortal remains of all nine martyrs were brought to Leh from Hunder on Sunday.“Wreath laying is planned in New Delhi after which IAF aircrafts will fly our martyrs to Pune, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Madurai, Chennai and Trivandrum,” an army official said. The mortal remains of martyrs would then be carried by IAF aircrafts to Bangalore, Chennai, Trivandrum, Madurai, Pune, and Hyderabad.

On the 11th day since a big avalanche wiped out an Army post on the Siachen Glacier at a height of 19,600 on February 3, mortal remains of nine soldiers were brought down to the Siachen base camp and then taken to the Military Hospital at Hunder where their embalming was done.

The nine deceased soldiers have been identified as Subedar Nagesha TT of Tejur village in Hassan district of Karnataka, Havildar Elumalai M of Dukkam Parai village of Vellore district of Tamil Nadu, Lance Havildar S Kumar of Kumanan Thozhu village in Teni district of Tamil Nadu, Lance Naik Sudheesh B of Monroethuruth village in Kollam district of Kerala, Sepoy Mahesha PN of HD Kote village in Mysore district of Karnataka, Sepoy Ganesan G of Chokkathevan Patti village in Madurai district of Tamil Nadu, Sepoy Rama Moorthy N of Gudisatana Palli village in Krishna Giri district of Tamil Nadu, Sepoy Mustaq Ahmed S of Parnapalle village of Kurnool district of Andhra Pradesh and Sepoy (Nursing Assistant) Suryawanshi SV of Maskarwadi village in Satara district of Maharashtra.

Among the 10 soldiers died, four were from Tamil Nadu, three from Karnataka (including Lance Naik Hanamanthappa) and one each from Kerala, Maharashtra and Andhra Pradesh, media agencies reported.