Source: News Bharati English17 Aug 2016 16:24:43

New Delhi, Aug 17: President Pranab Mukherjee on Wednesday appointed Governors to three states of Assam, Manipur, and Punjab besides the Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar.

According to a Press Communique issued by the Rashtrapati Bhavan former Nagpur MP Banwari Lal Purohit will be the new Governor of Assam while former Union Minority Minister Najma Heptulla will be the Governor of Manipur.

Senior BJP leader from Rajasthan V P Singh Badnore will be the Governor of Punjab. Prof Jagadish Mukhi of Delhi will be the Lt Governor of Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar.

Out of these states, Manipur and Punjab will be going to polls in the near future. Najma Heptullah will be the 18th Governor of Manipur. She will take charge from Meghalaya Governor V Shanmukhanath who was holding the additional charge of Manipur Governor.

Najma Heptullah resigned from the Ministry on July 12 this year paving the way for Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi to head the ministry.

Nagaland Governor Padmanabha Acharya is holding the additional charge of Assam will be relieved by Banwari Lal Purohit of Nagpur. Purohit, a senior BJP leader of the Vidarbha region is known for his austerity and clean image in the public life. He was elected to the Lok Sabha on BJP ticket in 1996 during the first NDA rule.

Senior BJP leader of Delhi Prof Jagadish Mukhi will be the new Lt Governor of Andaman and Nicobar. He will be replacing Lt. Gen (Retd) A K Singh, PVSM, AVSM, SM, VSM. Jagadish Mukhi has been a member of Parliament and a former minister in Delhi Government.