Source: News Bharati English30 Aug 2016 13:50:29

Gurugram, August 30: One of the largest digital payment company in India, MobiKwik announced coalition with 12 state electricity boards on Tuesday. The MobiKwik took this initiative ahead of its expansion plan to set up a national base for utility payments. Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Tripura, Meghalaya, Calcutta, Rajasthan and union territories of Daman and Diu are the states inclusive in the coalition agreement.
Mrinal Sinha, CHief Operating Officer (COO), MobiKwik, in her statement opined that with these tie-ups, Mobikwik now provides electricity bill payment services for 25 power discoms in India. This development is in line with our vision to make digital payments ubiquitous, she added. The company already provides bill payment services for power discoms such as Reliance Energy, BSES Rajdhani, BSES Yamuna, Tata Power Delhi Distribution Ltd and Chhattisgarh electricity board.

The newly added electricity boards in the merger are Bhagalpur Electricity Private Limited, India Power Corporation Limited, DNHPD, Rajasthan Vidyut Vitran Nigam, Tripura State Electricity Board, Madhya Pradesh Madhya Kshetra, Madhya Pradesh Paschim Kshetra Vidyut Vitaran, Madhya Pradesh Poorv Kshetra Jabalpur, Daman and Diu Electricity, Calcutta Electricity Supply, Meghalaya Electricity and Odisha Discom.

Apart from the coalition with the new electricity boards of the states, it already has bonds signed with companies like IRCTC, Uber, Meru Cabs, Big Bazaar, OYO Rooms, Zomato, PVR, Archies, WHSmith India, BookMyShow, Grofers, Big Basket, Dominos, Burger King, Pizza Hut, eBay, ShopClues, Myntra, Jabong, Pepperfry, Barista, Food Panda, Nearbuy, Van Heusen, Allen Solly, Louis Phillips, GoDaddy and MakeMyTrip for the powering the payments.