National Wrestling championship: Sushil Kumar, Geeta Phogat, Pawan Saroha clinched gold medal in respective categories
Source :NewsBharati   Date :18-Nov-2017

Indore, November 18: Top Indian wrestlers including Sushil Kumar, Dangal girl Geeta Phogat, Pawan Saroha and lone woman Olympic medal winner Sakshi Malik clinched the gold medal in their respective categories in the National Wrestling championship that was held in Indore on Friday.


Two-time Olympic-medalist Sushil Kumar who was back in action after three-long years bagged a gold medal in men's 74kg freestyle competition as three of his rivals gave him a walkover. Sushil battled for just 2 minutes and 33 seconds in total on the mat as he fought only two of his initial round bouts before three of his opponents in the quarterfinal, semifinal and in final gave him a walkover. Sachin Dahiya, Praveen Rana gave Sushil a walkover.

On the other side, Pawan Saroha also managed to finish on top in 86kg and won a gold medal. In the women’s categories, Sakshi finished on the top of the podium after posting a dominating 10-0 victory over Pooja Tomar of Haryana in the final of women's 62kg. Sakshi, in her opening bout, pinned down her rival in just 39 seconds and eventually sailed into the final of 62kg.

While Geeta Phogat clinched the yellow metal with a win against Ravita in the final of 59kg category. Geeta had registered a come-from-behind win to make it to the finals of 59kg with an 8-4 result over Sarita Mor 8-4 in her semifinal bout.

The championship was started on November 15 at Khel Prashal here. The 62nd Senior National Wrestling Championship, organized by the Madhya Pradesh Wrestling Association, was a three-day-long event. Around 800 wrestlers, 100 coaches and 50 technical officials from all over India participated in the mega event.


48kg: Ritu (Gold), Nirmal Devi (Silver), Preeti (Bronze) & Sheetal Tomar (Bronze).

53kg: Seema (Gold), Pinki (Silver), Priyanka (Bronze) & Diksha Tomar (Bronze).

55kg: Vinesh (Gold) Manisha (Silver), Swaranjeet Kaur (Bronze) & Reena (Bronze).

57kg: Pooja Dhanda (Gold), Sangeeta (Silver), Rani Rana (Bronze) & Indu Tomar (Bronze).

59kg: Geeta Phogat (Gold), Ravita (Silver), Sakshi (Bronze), & Sarita (Bronze).

62kg: Sakshi Malik (Gold), Pooja Tomar (Silver), Pooja (Bronze) & Manju (Bronze).

65kg: Ritu Malik (Gold), Gargi Yadav (Silver), Shilpi Sheron (Bronze) & Ishika Tomar (Bronze).

68kg: Divya Kakran (Gold), Monia (Silver), Kusum (Bronze) & Pinki (Bronze).

72kg: Kiran (Gold), Manu Tomar (Silver), Naina (Bronze) & Kamini (Bronze).

76kg: Pooja (Gold), Kavita (Silver), Jyoti (Bronze) & Rani (Bronze).

Men's Freestyle: 57 kg: Utkrash Kale (Gold); Ravi Kumar (Silver); Amit, Mayank (Bronze)

65 kg: Sonu (Gold), Praveen (Silver), Surjeet, Karan (Bronze).

74 kg: Sushil Kumar (Gold), Praveen Rana (Silver), Praveen, Balraj (Bronze)

86 kg: Pawan Kumar (Gold), Deepak (Silver), Surajvir, Deepak Punia (Bronze).