Kidambi Srikanth, PV Sindhu conferred with top awards at Indian Sports Honours
Source :NewsBharati   Date :28-Nov-2017

Mumbai, November 28: Indian sports star including Kidambi Srikanth, PV Sindhu, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mithali Raj, Sania Mirza, Abhinav Bindra were handed over the awards in different categories at the inaugural edition of 'Indian Sports Honours' which held in Mumbai on Monday. 

Ace Indian shuttler Kidambi Srikanth bagged the Sportsman of the Year award as he won four Super Series titles consecutively this year. While Olympic silver medallist PV Sindhu was also conferred with the Sportswoman of the Year award in the individual sports category. Devendra Jhajaria bagged Differently-abled Sportsman of the year award while Deepa Malik too was conferred with Sportsman of the year in the same category.

Tennis player Sania Mirza was given the Inspirational Honour award by the jury. Also, country's first Olympic gold medallist Abhinav Bindra was honoured with the Transformational Contribution to Sports award. On the other side, Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin who on Monday became the fastest bowler to reach 'Club 300' in Test cricket was also conferred with the Sportsman of the Year award in the Team Sport category.

While women's cricket team skipper Mithali Raj was given Sportswoman of the Year award in the Team Sport category. The Mithali-led side, which ended as runners-up in the ICC Women's World Cup, was also declared as the `Team of the Year`.

Interestingly, ‘Indian Sports Honours’ is an initiative partnered by the skipper of Indian cricket team Virat Kohli and Sanjiv Goenka, in line with an aim to support the development of Indian sports.


*Sportsman of the year (Individual sport): Srikanth Kidambi

*Sportsman of the year (Team sport) - Ravichandran Ashwin

*Sportswoman of the year (Individual sport) - PV Sindhu

*Sportswoman of the year (Team sport) - Mithali Raj

*Team of the year (Men/Women) - Indian Women's Cricket Team

*Coach of the year - Bisweshwar Nandi

*Emerging Sportswoman of the year - Aditi Ashok

*Emerging Sportsman of the year - Neeraj Chopra

*Differently-abled Sportsman of the year - Devendra Jhajaria

*Differently-abled Sportswoman of the year - Deepa Malik

Jury Honours

*Keep Walking Honour for Lifetime achievement - Balbir Singh

*Inspirational Honour - Sania Mirza

*Transformational Contribution to Sport - Abhinav Bindra

Popular choice Honours

*Breakthrough performance of the year - Hardik Pandya

*Star Sports Believe Honour (Comeback of the year) - Saina Nehwal

*Spirit of Sport - Yogeshwar Dutt

*Player of the year - Sunil Chhetri

*Club of the year - Mumbai Indians

*Best Fan Club - Manjappada Kerala Blasters.