Proud! India bags 20 medals including six gold at Commonwealth Shooting Championships
Source :NewsBharati   Date :07-Nov-2017

Brisbane, November 7: The emphatic success of Indians in the international sports arena continues and Indians keep their country proud. Notably, Indian shooters bagged a total of 20 medals including six gold, seven silver and seven bronze at the Commonwealth Shooting Championships in Gold Coast, Australia that concluded on Monday.


On the last day, Satyendra Singh won a gold medal while Sanjeev Rajput clinched silver in the men's 50m rifle 3 positions event. Satyendra qualified in second place with a total of 1162 with a best of 394 out of 400 in the Prone position, while his compatriot Sanjeev Rajput qualified in third place with 1158 and Chain Singh was fourth with the same score but lesser inner 10s.

However, in the finals, Satyendra took the lead quickly while Sanjeev was just behind him close throughout the length of the 45-shot final. Satyendra eventually prevailed and won a gold medal, finishing with 454.2 to Sanjeev's 453.3.

Chain Singh who was in third place in the initial stages of the final, raising hopes of an Indian clean sweep, was eventually overtaken by Australian Dane Sampson, who won the Men's Rifle Prone Gold earlier in the competition after the 12th competition shot and he held on to secure the Bronze medal. In the Men's Trap event at the Shotgun ranges, Birendeep Sodhi was the lone Indian to qualify for the six-man final round. He shot 118 out of 125 to qualify in fifth place and finished fourth eventually.

Earlier, Anish Bhanwala won a silver medal in the men's 25-metre rapid fire pistol event, while Neeraj Kumar bagged a bronze. Shahzar Rizvi, Omkar Singh and Jitu Rai the Indian pistol shooters won gold, silver and bronze medals in the 10-meter air pistol event. Pooja Ghatkar bagged a gold medal in the 10-meter women's air rifle event. While Anjum Moudgil won the silver medal.

Heena Sidhu also won the gold medal in the women's 10m Air Pistol event. Gagan Narang, Swapnil Suresh Kusale won a silver and bronze medal respectively in the men’s 50m rifle prone event. Prakash Nanjappa, Amanpreet Singh and Jitu Rai won all the three medals in the 50m pistol event.