Olympic athletes glitter at ‘Oscar of Sports’
स्रोत: News Bharati English      तारीख: 15-Feb-2017

Monaco, Feb 15: The 2017 Laureus World Sports Award ceremony, informally known as the “Oscar of Sports” took place in the Italian city of Monaco to honor the achievements of some of the big names in the sporting world.

Usain Bolt, the eleven-time world champion and eight-time Olympic gold medalist won the Laureus “Sportsman of the Year” award for the fourth time, joining the likes of Roger Federer, Serena Williams, and Kenny Slater.

Usain Bolt, widely regarded as the greatest sprinter of all times, bagged the award against the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, and LeBron James.

Simon Biles, winner of the gold medal at the Rio Olympics in gymnastics, won the prestigious Laureus “Sportswoman of the Year” award. Having won a combined total of nineteen Olympic and World Championship medals, Biles is the most decorated American gymnast, taking over from Shannon Miller, who had held this record since 1996.

With a total of whopping 28 Olympic medals, Michael Phelps, the most decorated Olympian of all time, won the Laureus “Comeback of the Year” award. He had won five gold medals and one silver medal in his final Olympics participation at Rio.

In the other categories, Beatrice Vio, an Italian wheelchair fencer, won the “Sportsman of the Year with a Disability” award. The 19-year old won a gold medal and a bronze medal in the 2016 Rio Paralympics.

Rachel Atherton, a British racing cyclist, won the “Action Sportsperson of the Year”, while Nico Rosberg, the current F1 World Champion, won the “Breakthrough of the Year” award.

The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual award ceremony honoring remarkable individuals from the world of sports along with the greatest sporting achievements throughout the year. It was established in 1999 by Laureus Sport for Good Foundation. The first ceremony was held on 25 May 2000 in Monte Carlo. This year’s event was hosted by the critically acclaimed actor, Hugh Grant.