UP: Polling begins for 51 seats in fifth phase of assembly elections; PM Modi urges people to vote
स्रोत: News Bharati English      तारीख: 27-Feb-2017

Lucknow, February 27: Polling is underway for the fifth phase of Assemble elections in Uttar Pradesh.  The voting is taking place for 51 constituencies spread over 12 districts of Terai and eastern regions in this phase. These districts are Amethi, Sultanpur, Faizabad, Barabanki, Ambedkarnagar, Bahraich, Shravasti, Balrampur, Gonda, Basti, Siddharthnagar and Sant Kabir Nagar.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi has urged the people of Uttar Pradesh to participate in the polls. Voting, which started at 7 AM, will end at 5 PM. A total of 607 candidates including 40 women is in the fray. BJP is contesting 50 seats as it has left one seat for its ally Apna Dal. BSP has fielded its candidates at 51 seats, whereas Samajwadi Party is contesting 43 seats and its ally Congress 14 seats.

Over 1.81 crore voters, including over about 84 lakh women, will decide the fate of ministers Vinod Kumar Singh alias Pandit Singh from Tarabganj (Gonda), Tej Narain Pandey alias Pawan Pandey from Ayodhya and BSP state president Ram Achal Rajbhar from Akbarpur, among others, in this phase.

Embeded ObjectElaborate arrangements have been made to ensure free and fair polls. Six police observers have been deployed to keep eyes on security arrangements. Indo-Nepal, inter-district and inter-state borders have been sealed. Central forces conducted a flag march in sensitive areas yesterday to instill confidence among voters.

Over 1,600 hamlets and over 2,300 polling stations have been identified as sensitive and critical and special security measures have been made in these localities. Polling process is being webcast live from 1792 polling stations.