Sasikala set to take oath as CM for Tamil Nadu after Panneerselvam resigns
स्रोत: News Bharati English      तारीख: 06-Feb-2017

Chennai, February 6:  O Panneerselvam announced his resignation on Sunday after serving for two months as Chief Minister. In the meeting of AIADMK legislature party which was held yesterday O Panneerselvam proposed the name of beloved Chinamma to take over as Chief Minister. V. Sasikala will soon take oath as a Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu on 9th February.
In the meeting “I, O Panneerselvam, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and AIADMK Treasurer, propose a resolution to elect ‘Chinamma’ as the leader of the AIADMK Legislature Party. I propose the resolution since we all feel that the head of the party and the government should be one and the same. And I have resigned as Chief Minister,” Mr Panneerselvam said.

Embeded Object

After the announcement Sasikala appeared in the front of the supporters. Sasikala said that "following the demise of Amma (J Jayalalithaa), it was O Panneerselvam who urged me first to take charge as the general secretary of AIADMK. It was Panneerselvam who again insisted first, that I become the Chief Minister of the state.”

While resigning from the post O Panneerselvam said that “Due to my personal reasons, I am tendering my resignation from the post of Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. Kindly accept my resignation and relieve the Council of Ministers of Tamil Nadu appointed by me on December 6, 2016.” O Panneerselvam thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi in a letter saying that "I would like to convey my sincere gratitude for all the support and cooperation extended by you during my tenure as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu."  Exactly after two months to that day when beloved J. Jayalalithaa passed away, her close-aide Sasikala was elected as the AIADMK party leader and now she is set to take oath as CM of Tamil Nadu.

"AIADMK chief Sasikala Natarajan aka 'Chinamma' all set to become the next Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. AIADMK MLAs elect Sasikala Natarajan as legislative party leader. Current Chief Minister O Panneerselvam proposed the name of Chinnamma Sasikala Natarajan as the leader of AIADMK Legislature Party Leader," AIADMK said in a statement.