T20 World Cup for blind: India defeats Nepal in final league match; secures semi-final berth
स्रोत: News Bharati English      तारीख: 09-Feb-2017

Guntur, February 9: Defending champion India registered a huge 152 run victory over Nepal in the final league match of the T-20 World Cup for blind at Mulapadu cricket Ground on Wednesday. Notably, this is India's eighth win in 9 games. Their only defeat was a 7-wicket loss against Pakistan.
Opting to bat first, openers Ajay Kumar Reddy (109) and Durga Rao (53) provided their side with a perfect start by sharing a huge 149 run stand for the opening wicket. While Reddy struck 17 boundaries in his 50-ball innings, Rao also smashed eight boundaries in his half-century before the duo eventually retired hurt. Subsequently, Venkateswara Rao D scored significant 33-ball 82 to help India post a respectable total of 289-1.

 In reply, Nepal could only score 137/5, losing by 152 runs. Ramesh Bahadur Baniya (35 not out) and Bikram Bahadur Rana (25 not out) were top scorers for the losers. For India, Ajay and Md Jafar Iqbal picked up one wicket each. Earlier, India booked their place in the semi-finals of the tournament after thrashing New Zealand by nine wickets in a match at KIIT Stadium in Bhubaneshwar on Tuesday. 

Meanwhile, in Bengaluru, Pakistan's Muhammad Jamil (100) and Riasat Khan (94) maimed the West Indies bowlers as the Asian outfit posted a gigantic total of 373/4. Pakistan then restricted the West Indies to 191/9 to win by 192 runs. With this win, Pakistan has made a world record of winning eight consecutive wins in any of the tournament. In other matches of the day, South Africa and England defeated New Zealand and Australia respectively.

Importantly, the Blind T20 World Cup 2017 began on January 30. India was the winner of the inaugural season. A total of 48 matches will be played throughout the tournament. The final of the tournament will be played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on February 12. For every win, the winner gets three points. Apart from India, Australia, Bangladesh, England, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies are participating.