Re-polling in five districts of Punjab underway
स्रोत: News Bharati English      तारीख: 09-Feb-2017

Chandigarh, February 9: Following the Election Commission’s (EC) directions given, re-polling is being held today at 48 polling stations spread across 5 districts of the state. Polling started at 8 in the morning and will continue till 5 in the evening. Polling staff had reached at the polling stations last night.
Notably, the administration has declared holiday today in these districts to facilitate voters for polling. The five districts are – Amritsar, Moga, Muktsar, Mansa and Sangrur. Central Armed Paramilitary Forces personnel have also been deputed at all these polling stations. GPS and video camera-fitted vehicles are stationed outside every village where these polling stations are located. Election Commission will monitor the polling through webcasting.

Re- polling was decided by Election Commission due to snags developed in some VVPAT machines and nonfunctioning of EVMs at some places during polling on February 4th, for which polling was disrupted. Election Commission has made fool proof arrangements to avoid any technical snag.

Today around 50000 voters will cast their votes. Among these 48 polling stations 16 are in Amritsar parliamentary constituency,12 in Majitha assembly segment 9 each in Muktsar and Sangrur assembly segments and 1 each in Moga and Sardulgarh seats.

The fate of 1,145 candidates, including 81 women and one transgender, has been sealed in the EVMs following voting held on February 4. Over 66 per cent electorate had exercised their franchise on February 4. Counting of the votes polled will take place on March 11. Interestingly, the ruling Shiromani Akali Dal-BJP alliance seeks to retain power in the state for a third consecutive term but it faces tough competition from the Congress and the debutante Aam Aadmi Party.