Senior Corporator Nanda Jichkar will be the next Mayor of Nagpur
स्रोत: News Bharati English      तारीख: 01-Mar-2017

Nagpur, March1 : With the mandate of 108 corporators, Nanda Jichkar, BJP’s city women wing head is all set to become the next Mayor of Nagpur. Jichkar who hails from chief minister’s assembly constituency Nagpur south-west got elected from the Prabhag 37. She has defeated Pragya Pannase of Congress.

Deepraj Pardikar has been elected as the deputy Mayor of Nagpur. A four time Corporator Sandeep Joshi will be the next leader of the house where ex-deputy mayor Sandeep Jadhav has been chosen for the post of Standing Committee Chairman.

For the first time Bharatiya Janata Party got  clear majority with 108 seats out of 151 seats under the leadership of Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Union Minister Nitin Gadkari. For the next five years, NMC will see two Mayors, each having two and half year tenure. This year the post for Mayor in NMC has been reserved for woman for general category.

The official announcement will be made on March 5. The Mayoral crown in ceremony will take place on March 5 at Town Hall in Mahal area.