Goa Chief minister Laxmikant Parsekar loses his home turf ; neck to neck fight between Congress and BJP
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 11-Mar-2017

Panji, March 11: Coming out a as nasty jolt for the Bharatiya Janata party, Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar who was contesting from the Manderam constituency of north Goa has lost his assembly segment by 7,219 votes.

Dayanand Raghunath Sopte of congress party defeated Parsekar in the prestigious fight. Laxmikant Parsekar had assumed the office on November 8, 2014 after the elevation of Parrikar for the top Job of Defence Ministry.

Deputy Chief Minister Fransic D'Souza of BJP won from Mapusa constituency defeating MGP candidate Vinod Phadke by a margin of 6,806 votes. MGP's Dipak Pawaskar defeated Ganesh Gaonkar of BJP by 1,169 votes in Sanvordem.

With the latest update BJP and congress party both are is leading with 14 seats The regional parties like Maharashtrawadi Gomantak and Goa Forward Party bagged three seats respectively.  3 Independents have won in the state of goa.