It’s Manohar Parrikar in Goa again, takes oath as CM, 9 other ministers inducted
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 14-Mar-2017

Goa Governor Mridula Sinha administering oath of office and secrecy to Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar at Panjim on Tuesday (Photo Courtsey DD News)

Panjim, Mar 14: Former Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar assumed the charge as the 13th Chief Minister of Goa on Tuesday. He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by the state Governor Mridula Sinha at an impressive ceremony at the Raj Bhavan here today evening.

BJP National President Amit Shah, Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari and Venkaiah Naidu, J P Nadda, and former Goa CM Laxmikant Parsekar were prominent amongst those present at the swearing-in ceremony. Leaders of Goa BJP and invitees were present in large number.

Union Minister Nitin Gadkari who has been in charge of Goa elections congratulated Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar.

Parrikar took the oath of office in Konkani. The Supreme Court has given Parrikar 48 hours to prove his majority on the floor of the house. It refused to stay the swearing-in ceremony of Manohar Parrikar after the Congress filed a plea before it.

The Congress Legislature Party also met the Governor at 1.30 pm after she refused to meet them this morning, urging that the swearing-in ceremony is postponed. She, however, refused to do so. We’re getting you the latest from Goa.

Along with Parrikar, nine other ministers have also been inducted into the cabinet. They were administered the oath of office and secrecy by the Governor Mridula Sinha. The newly inducted ministers included Sudin Dhavalikar, Vijay Sardesai, Francis D’souza, Manohar Ajgaonkar, Rohan Khaunte, Pandurang  Madkaikar, Govind Gaude, Vinod Paliancar, and Jayesh Salgaonkar.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar and extended him best wishes in taking Goa to the new height of development.

The BJP is supported by Maharashtravadi Gomantak Party (MGP), Goa Forward Party (GFP), and independents. Among the ministers who took oath today, Sudin Dhavlikar and Manohar Ajgaonkar are from MGP; Vinod Paliancar, Jayesh Salgaonkar and Vijai Sardesai are from GFP; Pandurang Madkaikar, Francis D’souza are from BJP; while Govind Gaude and Rohan Khaunte are independents.

In a brief address, he made before the select audience immediately after the swearing–in ceremony Chief Minister Parrikar exuded confidence that his government would win the confidence of the House in the floor test on March 16.

“The vote share of all the coalition partners put together is 50.5 percent, that means, the people of Goa have voted for development”, Parrikar said adding that all those who supported the BJP have voluntarily submitted their support letters to the Governor. “They are all here. We have already proved our majority”, he said and added that they will also prove it on the floor of the house as directed by the Supreme Court.

“This government will last till 365 x 5 days”, he said.

Taking a dig at the Congress, Parrikar said that the Congress had ruled the state for ten years but changed 12 chief ministers and recorded zero development. The BJP had taken steps to develop the state and all those who supported us did so as they want development, he added.

There were protests outside the venue by some activists who displayed placards #NotMyCM, Backward Goa etc.

Earlier in the day, the Supreme Court had disposed of the petition filed by the Congress party challenging the authority of the Governor in appointing Manohar Parrikar as Chief Minister when the BJP did not have the majority.

The Supreme Court has said that all issues raised in it can be resolved by simple direction of holding floor test. The Supreme Court today ordered floor test in Goa after miffed Congress Party bigwigs finally woken up and decided to take matters head on. The Supreme Court today ordered a floor test to be held on March 16.

Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari, Venkaiah Naidu and BJP President Amit Shah at the swearing-in ceremony in Goa (Photo Courtsey DD News)

Meanwhile, the Congress Legislature Party also met the Governor at 1.30 pm after she refused to meet them this morning, urging that the swearing-in ceremony be postponed. She, however, refused to do so.

After newly elected Congress MLAs Vishwajit Rane and Jennifer Monserrate lambasted the visiting members like Digvijay Singh for lack of swiftness and energy to attempt forming a Congress government when 17 MLAs were in hand, the sleeping party bigwigs decided Chandrakant Kavlekar, the four-time MLA from Quepem, as the Leader of Congress Legislature Party in Goa.

Kavlekar, on Monday night, moved the Supreme Court challenging Governor Mridula Sinha's decision to invite Manohar Parrikar-led BJP to form the government despite Congress being the largest party in the state after elections threw up a hung assembly.

The three-judge bench of the Supreme Court consisting Chief Justice Khehar, Justice Ranjan Gogoi, and Justice R. K. Agrawal hearing the case ordered the floor test in Goa on Thursday.

But before that, the SC bench asked tough questions to Congress. CJI Khehar asked Dr Abhishek Manu Singhvi: ‘Did you file the names of MLAs who support you in your representation to Governor?’ Khehar said, “You could have demolished their case within 30 seconds if you could show the number of MLAs supporting you (Congress)”.

“You are putting us the position of the Governor. These things you should have stated before the Governor”, the SC told Singhvi.

Meanwhile, Vishwajit P Rane, the Congress MLA from Valpoi and the leader of opposition in the outgoing Assembly, has announced he is quitting the party. Rane is also the son veteran Congressman and former Goa Chief Minister Pratapsingh Rane. Rane announced his exit, slamming the way Congress failed to stitch together a majority in Goa despite emerging as the single-largest party after winning 17 seats.