Chief Minister Biren Singh won trust vote with support of 32 MLAs in Manipur Assembly
Source :News Bharati English   Date :20-Mar-2017

Imphal, March 20: After taking oath on Wednesday Chief Minister BJP’s Nongthombam Biren Singh, today faced the floor test to prove his majority where he won the trust vote with the support of 32 MLAs in the 60-member Assembly. CM Biren Singh was invited by the Governor Najma Heptulla to form a BJP government.

During the Assembly Session BJP won with 32 trust votes while Congress fell short of majority in floor test today. After the win, BJP’s Nongthombam Biren Singh was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Manipur. Yumnam Khemchand Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was elected as the Speaker of Manipur Assembly ahead of the floor test. Y Joykumar of NPP has been designated as the Deputy Chief Minister.

On Wednesday, eight other ministers from the BJP and its alliance partners also took oath along with the CM Biren Singh. Earlier Biren Singh was a minister in the Congress government and quit the government and party in October last year. Also said that he left the Congress because of its misgovernance. The Congress had won 28 seats in Manipur, followed by the BJP 21. But now the Bharatiya Janata Party now has the support of 32 members in the 60-member Assembly.

Hailing from Luwangsangbam Mamang Leikai in Imphal East, Biren has been representing Heingang constituency since 2002. He was elected for the first time on the ticket of Democratic Revolutionary People’s Party and later on joined the Congress. He became a journalist but then he resigned and in May 2003 he was appointed as the minister of state for vigilance. He retained his seat in 2007 elections and was given the charge of irrigation and flood control minister and youth affairs and sports. Though Biswajit Singh gave him tough competition in BJP seemed to pave a way for Biren to become CM of Manipur.