Tamil Nadu defeats Bengal in Vijay Hazare tournament; lifts title for fifth time
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 21-Mar-2017

Delhi, 21 March 2017: Tamil Nadu blowed everyone’s mind when they returned home by winning the Vijay Hazare trophy yet again, beating Bengal by 37 runs. This is the state’s fifth victory by chasing 218runs against Bengal at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in Delhi.

Skilful batsman, Dinesh Karthik swung his bat 112 times and made a century in the nail-biting tournament. He was well- supported by Baba Indrajith and Washington Sundar. While for Bengal, Sudip Chatterjee scored the highest by hitting 58 runs. The real moment in the tournament was to see Mohammad Shami on the pitch. Shami was injured in the Mohali Test against England but carried off his sleeves with great zest of 7-0-36-0 at Vijay Hazare tournament.

Bengal made 180 runs but Tamil Nadu came up with 37-run victory. Tamil Nadu has created a winning streak over Bengal 3 times in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. TN first beat Bengal in 2008-09 and then again in 2009-10. Earlier in the semi-finals of Vijay Hazare Tournament 2017, Bengal defeated Jharkhand by a whopping 330 runs while Tamil Nadu outclassed Baroda by 6 wickets to run for the final win.