AIADMK symbol: EC gives ‘auto rickshaw’ to Sasikala & ‘electric pole’ to OPS to contest by-poll
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 23-Mar-2017

Chennai, March 23: Election Commission gave ‘auto rickshaw’ symbol to Sasikala party and ‘electric pole’ symbol to O Panneerselvam party today to contest R K Nagar by-poll. On Wednesday the Election Commission EC froze the AIADMK party’s symbol after the tussle amongst the opposition parties led by O Panneerselvam and K Palaniswamy staked their claim to it. 

EC has asked these two parties to contest the upcoming R K Nagar by-poll which is on 12th April on fresh symbols. The EC had given both parties time till 10am today to choose new symbols and also been asked to pick new party names for the RK Nagar by-poll.  

EC said that “Neither of the two groups led by the petitioners ( E Madhusudhanan, O Panneerselvam and S Semmalai) and the respondents ( VK Sasikala and TTV Dhinakaran) shall be permitted to use the name of the party ‘All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam.” Nor be permitted to use the symbol ‘Two Leaves’, reserved for ‘All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam’,” the EC added.

Earlier O Panneerselvam had submitted a petition to EC requesting about allotment of AIADMK’s two leave symbol to it. A delegation from Sasikala’s faction M Thambidurai also submitted a petition saying not to entertain any claim to AIADMK symbol from OPS party. The EC has sought supporting documents from the Panneerselvam camp before March 20.

To this O Panneerselvam disappointedly expressed saying that in spite of having kept strong arguments in front of the Election Commission, we are disappointed by the results. We will continue to raise voice legally to get back our symbol. AIADMK General Secretary TTV Dinakaran said that the decision would not affect them in the upcoming R.K. Nagar by-polls. We will now take up the issue and I am confident that we will get the symbol back.

This is the second time that the party’s two leaves symbol has been frozen. It first happened in 1989, when the party was split into two factions following AIADMK founder M.G. Ramachandran’s death.