India pockets series against Australia; reclaims Border-Gavaskar Trophy
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 28-Mar-2017

Dharamshala, Mar 28: India today won the fourth test against Australia to clinch the series 2-1 in Dharmashala.

After losing the first test match, India made a strong comeback in the second test. The third test ended in a draw thus, making the fourth test very interesting. India came out on the top in Dharamshala to defeat the visitors and claiming the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

After bowling out Australia for 300, India took the lead and bowled out the visitors for 137 in the second innings. With a target of 106 to chase, Ajinkya Rahane and K L Rahul took India home after Murali Vijay and Rahul added 46 for the first wicket. India wins the series 2-1 and reclaims the Border-Gavaskar trophy.

India reclaimed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy with a comfortable eight-wicket win over Australia in the 4th and final Test in Dharamsala on Tuesday.

Chasing a modest 106-run winning target, the hosts overcame a couple of stutters to duly post a victory to seal off the fiery series 2-1.

Opener K L Rahul remained 51 not out while stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane hammered a rapid unbeaten 38 as hosts ended at 106 for two. They ensured there were no great alarms after India had lost Murali Vijay and Cheteshwar Pujara in quick succession.

After bowling out Australia for 137 in the second innings, India got off to a steady start chasing a target of 106. Murali Vijay and K L Rahul added 46 for the first wicket before Vijay nicked one off to the keeper.

Pujara didn't trouble the scorers much as he was dismissed for a duck but Ajinkya Rahane along with Rahul took the hosts home without any more damage.