EC orders fool-proof security arrangements for counting of votes on 11th March
स्रोत: News Bharati English      तारीख: 05-Mar-2017

New Delhi, March 5: The Election Commission of India on Sunday issued instructions to all the Chief Electoral Officers (CEOs) of the Five Poll-bound States to ensure and arrangements for safe result day. Notably, counting of votes for Punjab, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Goa and Manipur assembly elections will be conducted on March 11.EC issued detailed instructions regarding storage and safety arrangements of EVMs, the appointment of counting staff, counting agents and counting procedures. The Commission also had several rounds of video conferences with the CEOs and Returning Officers of all 5 States to take first-hand inputs on the preparedness of the counting arrangements.

Giving details of security mechanism set up, the Senior Election Commission officer said that the ECI is not leaving any stone unturned to fair and transparent counting arrangements at all the 157 counting centres.

The EC officer further said that these arrangements would ensure prevention of access to any anti-social element and that frisking will be done so that no one enters the area with arms & ammunitions. Further, no one would be able to enter the counting arena without getting frisked.

The Election Commission has taken feedback from all political parties and candidates, based on which these additional instructions have been issued with a view to further bolster security arrangements to tackle both generals as well as situation-specific exigencies and ensure a smooth counting process in a transparent manner.

ECI has instructed all the CEOs and DEOs to make the above arrangements and undertake counting process cautiously, step by step and without undue haste so as to make them foolproof, the EC officer added.

The Commission has also instructed that all counting arrangements must be completed by night of 7th March. Meanwhile, Counting will take place at 53 centres in Punjab, 2 in Goa, 75 in Uttar Pradesh, 15 in Uttarakhand and 12 centres in Manipur.