UP Polls: Seventh Phase election underway, 26% of polling till 12 pm
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 08-Mar-2017

Lucknow, March 8: Polling is also underway for the Last phase of assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh. Voting is taking place for 40 constituencies spread over 7 district of eastern UP in this phase. The districts include Varanasi, Ghazipur, Mirzapur, Sonebhadra and Jaunpur. 26 percent voting recorded in first five hours of the second phase. The polling which began at 7 AM will continue till 5 PM. However, in the three naxal-affected constituencies of Duddhi, Robertsganj and Chakia, it will conclude at 4 PM.Prime Minister Narendra Modi has urged the people of Uttar Pradesh and Manipur to cast their votes today. In a tweet, Mr Modi appealed to them to come out and vote in large numbers. Over one crore 41 lakh electorate are eligible to cast their votes in this phase. A total of 535 candidates, including 51 women, are in the fray.

Most of the polling stations are manned by the Central Para Military Forces. Additional security forces have been deployed in the naxal hit areas. The inter-state border with Bihar, Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand have been sealed and patrolling by security forces has intensified.

With today's voting, polling in all 403 Assembly seats in UP will be completed except for Alapur constituency, where votes will be cast tomorrow. The polling in Alapur was postponed following the death of a Samajwadi Party candidate. In Varanasi around 28 lakh voters including 12 lakh female voters will cast their vote. Voters will decide the political future of 127 candidates who are in fray for eight constituencies of the district. Around 46 thousand first time youth voters will use their franchise. Forty model polling booths have also been made in Varanasi.