Maha Legislative Assembly to revoke suspension of 9 out of 19 MLAs suspended for creating ruckus
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 01-Apr-2017

Mumbai, April 1:  Today the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly decided to revoke the suspension of 9 MLAs out of 19 suspended MLAs who were suspended for creating ruckus while budget presentation and burning the budget copies outside assembly.
Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis prevailed and said that despite the opposition pressing for revoking the suspension of all the 19 MLAs at one go, it is clear that the matter would be decided by the Government and not by the Opposition.

On March 22,2017, total of 19 MLAs were suspended for disrupting presentation of the state budget and burning the budget copies outside assembly. The entire opposition walked out and had boycotted the proceedings of the House after suspension of 19 MLAs who are from the Congress and NCP.

Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Girish Bapat proposed to revoke suspension of 9 MLAs. The 9 MLAs are Sangram Thopate (Congress-Bhor), Narhari Jirwal (NCP-Dindoshi), Deepak Chavan (NCP-Faltan), Dattatray Bharane (NCP-Indapur), Abdul Sattar (Congress-Sillod), Avadhoot Tatkare (NCP-Srivardhan), Amit Jhanak (Congress-Risod), Vaibhav Pichad (NCP-Akole) and D P Savant (Congress-Nanded North.

Fadnavis insisted that the opposition should attend the House by doing away with their boycott and demanding that the suspension be revoked. The Opposition started a 'Sangharsh Yatra' from Chandrapur three days back. The Opposition attended Upper House (Legislative Council) and on Friday requested to reconsider suspension.