National Centre of Seismology to set up 31 new observatories including 1 in Uttarakhand
Source :News Bharati English   Date :17-Apr-2017

Dehradun, April 17: The National Centre of Seismology (NCS) is palnning to set up an observatory in Uttarakhand to monitor seismic activities. The observatory will be equipped with digital broadband seismograph system connected to VSAT communication.
In Uttarakhand, NCS already has 3 seismological observatories in Lohaghat, Pithoragarh and Dehradun. The exact location of the fourth NCS observatory is unknown, but it is understood that it will come up somewhere in Garhwal region.

The information was shared by Y S Chowdary, Union minister of state for science, technology and earth sciences, while replying to a question on April 12 in Parliament."The NCS is in the process of installing of 31 new seismological observatories, of which 1 will be in Uttarakhand," said Chowdary.

At present, NCS is maintaining a National Seismological Network (NSN) comprising 84 digital (electronic) permanent seismological field stations across the country.

Giving out details of state-wise location, he said Uttar Pradesh will have 5 locations; 4 each in Bihar and Haryana; 3 each in Delhi and Himachal Pradesh; 2 each in Jammu & Kashmir, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh; and 1 each in Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal and Lakshdweep.

These seismological observatories will help to regulate and monitor Richter scales of different states across India. It will be a boon to the earthquake prone states to evacuate public immediately in such instances of natural calamity.`