Arrogance of AAP, over-confident Congress face shivering defeat in #MCD polls; Delhi trusts BJP again
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 26-Apr-2017

New Delhi, April 26: Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP) arrogance and Congress’s over-confident leadership have got a huge setback in Delhi’s MCD polls as both the parties had a shivering defeat. Delhi has shown its full trust on Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and showered votes in bulk.
The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and Prime Minister’s Modi wave remains as it is like how it was during 2014 general elections. Notably, BJP dominantly won all the three MCD elections whereas AAP remained in the second position and Congress slipped to third.

After an intense triangular battle and hardcore campaigning in Delhi municipal polls, BJP thrashed AAP and Congress by winning won 184 seats. Whereas, AAP registered a second place by winning 46 seats and the Congress bagged 30 seats, while others got 10 seats on 270 of 272 wards of three municipalities.

Embeded ObjectThe BJP that successfully reclaimed MCD, however it has held for the last 10 years, had fielded fresh faces in 267 wards and it got a favourable mandate in 181 wards. It won 70, 66 and 48 wards in SDMC, NDMC and EDMC, respectively. Looking at the Municipality wise, AAP has won only 20 seats in NDMC, 16 in SDMC and 10 in EDMC.

Congress, AAP who were confident of winning the MCD elections turned into over-confident and stood nowhere in the competition. Right from the start of counting votes BJP remained on top and registered easy win. Notably, the high-stakes civic polls were held on April 23, which saw a voter turnout of 53.58 percent. Polling was held in 270 of the 272 wards of the three municipal corporations.

After winning the MCD polls, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari, Union Minister M Venkaiah Naidu, Home Minister Rajnath Sigh, BJP President Amit Shah and many other leaders have congratulated Delhi people and its workers too.

Recently, AAP faced a humiliating defeat in Rajouri Garden poll and before that, it has also suffered a massive defeat in Punjab and drew a blank in Goa assembly polls. Interestingly, in May 2016 AAP won 5 seats, followed by the Congress- 4, the BJP- 3 and an Independent candidate- one seat. In 2015 Delhi assembly elections, debutant AAP led by Arvind Kejriwal stunned all by bagging 67 seats out of 70 seats.