IPL 2017: Defending champions Sunrisers registers defeats RCB in opening match
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 06-Apr-2017

Hyderabad, April 6: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) on Wednesday defeated Royal challengers Bangalore (RCB) by 35 runs in the opening match of Indian Premier League (IPL) T20 cricket tournament at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket stadium in Hyderabad.
Earlier, SRH put into bat and posted a mammoth total of 207 for 4 in stipulated 20 overs. Riding on half-centuries from Yuvraj Singh (62) and Moises Henriques (52) Sunrisers Hyderabad got the hold of the match. For Bangalore, Yuzvendra Chahal was the pick of the bowlers who returned with figures of 1 for 22.

Later, in the second inning chasing a target of 208 runs, RCB managed to score only 172 for 10 wickets in 19.4 overs. Chris Gayle's 21 balls 32 and K M Jadhav's 16 balls 31 were not enough for RCB to reach the target. Ashish Nehra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Rashid Khan picked up 2 wickets each for Sunrisers.

Embeded ObjectEarlier, the 10th edition of the IPL Twenty-20 cricket tournament got off with a colorful opening ceremony in Hyderabad last evening. The league, this time around, will have eight opening ceremonies. IPL Chairman Rajeev Shukla had earlier said, unlike the past, this edition plans to host eight different opening ceremonies, one before the first home game of each franchise. IPL matches, this time, will be played over the course of 47 days at 10 different venues.