'Neerja' wins Best Film and Akshay Kumar bags Best Actor in #NationalFilmAwards: Read full list of Awards here
Source :News Bharati English   Date :07-Apr-2017

New Delhi, April 7: 64th National Film Awards press conference was held today at National Media Centre in New Delhi. Eminent film director, Producer, and Screenwriter Priyadarshan is the jury Chairperson in feature films category.
Akshay Kumar won the Best Actor title for Rustom and Sonam Kapoor gets a special mention for her role in Neerja which also won the Best Film Award. Best Supporting Actress award went to Dangal’s little girl, Zaira Wasim.

Awards List:

1. Best Actor Award goes Akshay Kumar for ‘Rustom ‘.

Akshay Kumar plays a disciplined Naval Officer in Rustom. His role was appreciated a lot and the movie was portrayed in a court room drama of 1959 Nanavati Case .  

Embeded Object

2. Best Actress Award won by C.M. Surabhi for her role in Malayalam film “Minnaminungu-The Firefly”.

3. Best Supporting Actress award goes Zaira Wasim for ’Dangal’.

Zaira Wasim played the role of Geeta Phogat, the international winning Wrestler in the movie. Zaira came into overnight recognition for her role opposite superstar Aamir Khan.

Embeded Object

4. Best Hindi Film goes to ‘Neerja’. Sonam Kapoor plays the benevolent role of Neerja who died in a hijacked plane held as hostage. Sonam Kapoor received a Special mention too for her real-life acting on-screen. Neerja is based on the real story of an air- hostess who dies saving Indian hostages in a hijacked plane.

Embeded Object

5.Best Film On Social Issue goes to Anirudha Roy Choudhary's ‘Pink’. Pink is a courtroom drama which highlights the courage of 3 girls who get molested by society’s public figure, and how a lawyer saves the girls'.

Embeded Object

6. Best Special Effects Navin Paul gets award for Best Special Affects for ‘Shivaay’

Embeded Object

7. Special Mention Awards- Sonam Kapoor for Neerja, Kadvi Hawa, Mukti Bhavan, Adil Hussain (For Mukti Bhavan )

8. New Award introduced this year. Best Action Director Award goes to Peter Hayne. 

9. Best Film goes to Marathi film ‘Kasav’

10. Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut film goes to ‘Alifa’

11. Best Children's Film goes to Nagesh Kukunoor's ‘Dhanak’

12. Best Female Playback Singer goes to Emaan Chakraborty for ‘Tumi Jaake Bhalobasho’ from film Praktan. 

13. Best re-recording award also to Priyanka Chopra produced ‘Ventilator’

14. Best Costume Designer goes to Marathi film ‘Cycle’. And Best Production design award goes to Tamil film

15. Best Editing goes to Marathi film ‘Ventilator’

16. Special Jury Award has been given to Malayalam actor Mohanlal

17. Best Bengali film goes ‘Bisorjon’ directed by Kaushik Ganguly

18. Best Kannada film goes to ‘Reservation’

19. Best Marathi Film goes to ‘Dashakriya’

20. Best Gujarati Film goes to ‘Wrong Side Raju’ 

21. Best Tamil Film Goes to ‘Joker’ directed by Raju Murugan

22. Best Environmental film – ‘The tiger who crossed the line’

23. Best film on social issues jointly awarded to ‘I am Jija’ and ‘Sanath’

24. Best Short Fiction Film goes to ‘Abba’

25. Special animation film award goes to ‘Hum Picture Banate Hai’

26.  Best Narration Voice-over goes to Makino. A story of a Japanese lady who travels to Shantiniketan to live a life post World War II. The narration has been done by the Japanese lady in Bengali. 

27.  Best Book on cinema goes to Lata Surgatha- a book that narrates the story of legendary singer Lata Mangeshkar. 


Embeded Object