IPL 2017: KKR records sensational win by 10-wicket; smashes Gujarat Lions
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 08-Apr-2017

Rajkot, April 8: Two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders on Friday recorded a sensational 10-wicket win over Gujarat Lions in their opening match at Rajkot. Notably, it was Chris Lynn who delivered a match-winning performance, hammering 93 off just 41 balls to give the Kolkata Knight Riders an easy 10-wicket win over the Gujarat Lions.
Chasing a mammoth total of 184 runs for win, KKR’s Chris Lynn (93 not out) and skipper Gautam Gambhir (76 not out) put on unbeaten 184 runs for the opening wicket to cruise the superb victory. However, Lynn consumed just 41 balls and struck six boundaries and as many as eight sixes during his outstanding inning. Gambhir, on the other hand, was at his subtle best and scored his runs off 48 deliveries with the help of 12 fours.

Embeded ObjectEarlier, put to bat Gujarat had posted 183 for 4, Raina top-scored for the hosts and consumed 51 balls during his knock which was studded with seven boundaries. Besides, Raina, Dinesh Karthik (47) and Brendon McCullum played aggressively for Gujarat Lions. For KKR, chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav picked up two wickets giving away 25 runs.

Embeded ObjectHowever, it was the highest target chased by a team in T-20 history without losing a wicket. Lynn was adjudged man of the match. Today, Kings Eleven Punjab will take on Rising Pune Supergiant at Indore at 4 PM, while Royal Challengers Bangalore will clash with Delhi Daredevils at Bengaluru at 8 in the evening.


Gujarat Lions: Jason Roy c Pathan b Chawla 14, BB McCullum lbw b Kuldeep Yadav 35, Suresh Raina (not out) 68, Aaron Finch c Yadav b Kuldeep Yadav 15, Dinesh Karthik c Yadav b Boult 47, Dwayne Smith (not out) 0. Extras (lb-2, w-2) 4. Total (for four wickets in 20 overs) 183.

FoW: 1-22, 2-72, 3-92, 4-179.

Bowling: Boult 4-0-40-1, Chawla 4-0-33-1, Narine 4-0-33-0,  Woakes 3-0-35-0, Kuldeep Yadav 4-0-25-2, Pathan 1-0-15-0.

Kolkata Knight Riders: G. Gambhir (not out) 76, C.A. Lynn (not out) 93. Extras (b-4, w-11) 15. Total (for no loss in 14.5 overs) 184.

Bowling: P. Kumar 2-0-13-0, D. Kulkarni 2.5-0-42-0, M. Gony 2-0-32-0, S. Kaushik 4-0-40-0, DR Smith 1-0-23-0, S. Jakati 3-0-30-0.