ICC picks Kohli, Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar in Champions Trophy 2017 team
Source :News Bharati English   Date :20-Jun-2017

London, June 20: The International Cricket Council on Monday announced the Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 which includes players from five of the eight participating sides. ICC has named three Indian players including Skipper Virat Kohli, opener Shikhar Dhawan, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. However, ICC named Sarfraz Ahmed as the captain of the team.  

The selection ICC team comes after a day when Pakistan defeated India in the Champions Trophy final and lifted the title for the first ever time. The team includes four Pakistanis, three Indians, three Englishmen and one Bangladeshi, with Kane Williamson of New Zealand as 12th man. Sarfraz was chosen as the captain following his inspirational leadership during the 18-day tournament that was the cornerstone of his team’s 180-run victory over India in front of a full house.

The side was selected by a jury of cricket experts, which included former captains, Michael Atherton of England, India’s Sourav Ganguly, Ramiz Raja of Pakistan as well as Lawrence Booth (Editor, Wisden Almanack and cricket writer, The Mail) and Julian Guyer (cricket correspondent, Agence France-Presse), with ICC General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice, as chairman.

The Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 (in batting order) is:

i)  Shikhar Dhawan (India) (338 runs)

 ii) Fakhar Zaman (Pakistan) 252 runs)

iii) Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh) (293 runs)

iv) Virat Kohli (India) (258 runs)

v) Joe Root (England) (258 runs)

vi) Ben Stokes (England) (184 runs and three wickets)

vii) Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan) (captain) (wicketkeeper) (76 runs and nine dismissals)

viii) Adil Rashid (England) (seven wickets)

ix) Junaid Khan (Pakistan) (eight wickets)

x) Bhuvneshwar Kumar  (India) (seven wickets)

xi) Hassan Ali (Pakistan) (13 wickets)

xii) Kane Williamson (New Zealand (12th) (244 runs). 

Embeded Object