Manipur bags 18th Senior Women’s National Football Championship beating Railways’
Source :News Bharati English   Date :06-Jun-2017

Manipur, June 6: Manipur team won the 22nd senior women’s National Football Championship on Monday, held in Jalandhar, Punjab. This was the 18th time that the Manipur women won the championship after beating Railways in the final.

Manipur Governor Najma Heptulla has congratulated the state's senior women’s team for winning for the record of 18th time and said, "the state has huge potentiality in sports, particularly in the field of football, boxing and archery amongst others".

Embeded Object

Manipur football players Ngangom Bala Devi also known as Ng Bala scored twice and Dangmei Grace once as Manipur defeated Railways Sports Promotion Board 3-1 to win the 22nd State Senior Women’s National Football Championship.

Ng Bala repeated her successful strike in a similarly way as in the semi-final against Odisha, where she released the account for Manipur around the beginning of the second half.

On Monday she dismissed even earlier into the first half. Kabita of Railway’s team did a rescue act by scoring a goal after six minutes’ play of the second half, still, the Manipuri attack was excessively for her team, which fielded three Manipuri players out of the six in the squad.

Dangmei Grace left the Railways’ defence into tatters again, just two minutes later. After that, the score read as 2-1, which was in favour of Manipur. It was cleared that Manipur was well into scripting another history when Ng Bala hit once more in the 81st minute.

In 1991-92, the championship had its first edition in Imphal and till today, Manipur had reached final every time except once in Bhilai of Chhatisgarh in 2013-14.

Manipur team had unsuccessful campaigns only in four editions of the Senior Women’s National Football Championships. This year’s winning championship was also a great comeback for the state.