#FrenchOpen: Bopanna-Dabrowski swiftly enters into finals
Source :News Bharati English   Date :08-Jun-2017

Paris, June 8: India's Rohan Bopanna and his Canadian partner Gabriela Dabrowski on Wednesday swiftly entered into finals of in mixed doubles of French Open at Paris. Bopanna-Dabrowski defeated the third-seeded pair of Andrea Hlavackova and Edouard Roger-Vasselin by 7-5, 6-3.

During the match, Bopanna and Dabrowski were strong on serve, serving five aces and winning 77 percent points on their first serve. Though they were broken early in the first set, they broke their opponents twice in the first set and once in the second set in a match lasting one hour and four minutes. Playing aggressively, Bopanna and his partner earned crucial points at every interval and easily won the game.

Notably, this is the first time that Bopanna and Dabrowski have advanced to the final of a Grand Slam. The Indo-Canadian duo earlier defeated Sania Mirza and Ivan Dodig 6-3, 6-4 in the quarterfinals. Bopanna-Dabrowski will face Germany's Anna-Lena Groenefeld and her Colombian partner Robert Farah in the final. Groenefeld and Farah defeated Rajeev Ram and Casey Dellacqua 6-7(5), 6-3, (10-5).

Embeded Object

Bopanna will appear in his second Grand Slam final -- his first was the men's doubles championship match at the 2010 US Open when he and Pakistan's Aisam-ul-Haq Qureshi lost to the Bryan brothers. Both Bopanna and Dabrowski have had recent success. In April, the Canadian won the Miami Open women's doubles title, while Bopanna won the men's doubles on the clay of Monte Carlo.

Importantly, Bopanna is the sole Indian player still in French Open whereas defending champions Leander Paes and Martina Hingis were upset in the first round, while last year's finalists Sania Mirza and Ivan Dodig were bowed out in the quarterfinals by Bopanna and Dabrowski themselves. Mirza's women's doubles campaign also ended in the first round, Paes and Bopanna, playing with their respective partners, were knocked out of men's doubles in the second and third round, respectively. On the other side, Purav Raja and Divij Sharan also fell in the third round.