Government appoints Senior IRS officers as CBDT members
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 14-Jul-2017

New Delhi, Jul 14: After the Historic roll out of GST, central government today appointed senior bureaucrat Arbind Modi and Bajrang Dass Vishnoi to look after the affairs of Central Board of Direct Taxes which is the apex policy- making body of the Income Tax department. The CBDT is headed by a chairman and can have a maximum of six members.

According to the order issued by the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT), the 1981 batch Indian Revenue Service officers will serve as Central Board of Direct Taxes members. Arbind Modi retires in September next year and Bajrang Dass Vishnoi will be in service until July 2018.

The Central Board of Direct Taxes is a statutory authority functioning under the Central Board of Revenue Act, 1963. The officials of the Board in their ex-officio capacity also function as a Division of the Ministry dealing with matters relating to levy and collection of direct taxes.