Over 12 Lakh people are suffering from Assam floods; death troll reached 59
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 16-Jul-2017

Dispur, July 16: Assam is suffering from heavy rain and flood issues. As on Saturday, the Assam recorded that at least 12 Lakh people in 24 districts of Assam continued to reel under floods and the death toll reached to 59. The flood situation is slightly improved in the state but officials claim that over half of Kaziranga National Park was submerged and over 70 animals have died.

11,93,458 people have been suffering in 1,795 villages in the 24 districts, informed the Assam State Disaster Management Authority (ASDMA) on Saturday. The ASDMA also reported that over 66,516 hectares of agricultural land continue to be affected by floods.

Officials noted that close to 25,000 flood-affected people are taking shelter in 129 relief camps set up by the government in different districts.

93 anti-poaching camps in Agaratoli, Kohora, Bagori, Burhapahar and Biswanathghat range of the park affected as 52% of the Kaziranga National Park remained under water on Saturday.

To monitor and track the animals which have strayed outside the park due to the floods, the forest department with the Kaziranga National Park authorities has deployed additional forces including outside the park.

Among the over 70 animals that have drowned in the floods, this year is three rhino calves, one leopard cat, one water buffalo, and many hog deer, informed park authorities.       There is, however, no incident of any poaching during the current floods and the park authorities have been working hard to provide security to the animals.

The district administration claimed that they have distributed sufficient relief material but the report says that the flood hit areas didn’t receive adequate relief materials.

The affected districts include Dhemaji, Biswanath, Lakhimpur, Sonitpur, Darrang, Nalbari, Barpeta, Bongaigaon, Chirang, Kokrajhar, Dhubri, Soputh Salmara, Golapara, Morigaon, Nagaon, Karbi Anglong, Golaghat, Jorhat Majuli, Sivsagar, Charaideo, Dibrugarh, Karimganj, Cachar.