#PresidentElectionDay : Voting underway at Parliament and State Assemblies
Source :News Bharati English   Date :17-Jul-2017

New Delhi, July 17: Its NDA's Ram Nath Kovind vs UPA's Meira Kumar in the race for the 14th presidential election held today. PM Narendra Modi has expressed confidence in the NDA nominee, having the support of 40 parties. Voting will begin at 10 AM in the Parliament as well as in the state assemblies.

The electoral college of the prez poll comprises of 4,120 MLAs & 776 MPs with a total vote value of 10,98,903. There will be a straight fight for the top constitutional post between NDA candidate Ramnath Kovind and Opposition nominee Meira Kumar.

Embeded ObjectCounting of the votes will be held on Thursday. The term of present incumbent Pranab Mukherjee comes to an end on the 24th of this month. Special arrangements have been made at Parliament House and State Assemblies for the polling. The President will be elected by the Electoral college comprising of all elected members of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, Legislative Assemblies of states and Assemblies of Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry.

The candidate who secures at least one vote more than 50 per cent of the total votes will enter into the Majestic Rashtrapati Bhavan. A total of four thousand 896 voters comprising 776 elected MPs and 4120 MLAs will be given a special marker to sign their ballot. Though the election is through a secret ballot, the parties cannot issue a whip to their members to vote for a particular candidate. The nation will get its new President on Thursday.Embeded Object