#vicepresidentialelection : Venkaiah Naidu files nomination in presence of PM Modi
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 18-Jul-2017

New Delhi, July 18: NDA's Vice Presidential candidate, Venkaiah Naidu has filed his nomination papers today in the presence of PM Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and senior leaders of BJP and the heads of some other parties. Earlier, He has tendered his resignation from the post of Urban Development Minister and filed nomination papers.

After surprising everyone by naming Dalit leader Ram Nath Kovind as its President nominee, BJP is keen to put up a South Indian face as its Vice President candidate. Opposition, meanwhile, has selected Gopal Krishna Gandhi as their vice presidential candidate.

With Venkaiah Naidu resigning as the Union Minister to contest for Vice President's post, PM Narendra Modi has reshuffled his Cabinet. Textiles Minister Smriti Irani has been given Information & Broadcast Ministry, while Narendra Tomar was charged with additional responsibilities of Urban Development. After being dropped as HRD Minister, Irani now has two Ministries to her credit. 

Venkaiah Naidu is renowned face of BJP from South India. His leadership skills boosted BJP’s existence in Southern part of country. He won the Andhra Pradesh assembly elections twice in 1978 and 1983 from Udayagiri constituency. Naidu has served as BJP national president from 2002 to 2004. Elected as a member of the Rajya Sabha from Karnataka in 1998, and re-elected twice in 2004 and 2010.

1971 : President, Students’ Union, V.R. College, Nellore

1973-74 : President, Students Union, Andhra University Colleges

1974 :Convener, Lok Nayak Jai Prakash Narayan Kshatra Sangharsh Samiti of Andhra Pradesh

1977-80 : President, Youth Wing of Janata Party, Andhra Pradesh

1978-83 & 1983-85 : Member, Legislative Assembly, Andhra Pradesh

1980-83 : Vice-President, Youth Wing of All India B.J.P.

1980-85 : Leader, B.J.P. Legislature Party in Andhra Pradesh

1985-88 : General Secretary, Andhra Pradesh State B.J.P.

1988-93 : President, Andhra Pradesh State Unit of B.J.P.

1993 –2000 : General Secretary, All India B.J.P. 1996 – 2000 : Secretary (i) BJP Parliamentary Board, & (ii) BJP Central Election Committee, and (iii) Spokesperson, BJP April

1998 : Elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (1st term)

1998 – 99 : Member, Committee on Home Affairs and Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Agriculture

1998 – 2001 & 2005 - 2013 : Member, Tobacco Board

1999 - 2000 : Member, Committee on Finance Jan

2000 : Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Rural Development

2000 (Sept) –2002 (June) : Minister of Rural Development, Government of India

2002 (July) – 2004 (Oct) : National President, B.J.P.

2004 (Jan) – 2004 (Feb) : Member, Committee on External Affairs June

2004 : Re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (2nd term)

2004 - 06 : Member, Standing Committee on Finance

2005 : Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Agriculture and Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

2006 – 2008 : Chairman, Committee on Petitions (Rajya Sabha) 2006 onwards Member, (i) BJP Parliamentary Board, and (ii) BJP Central Election Committee

2008 – 2014 : Chairman, Committee on Home Affairs (Rajya Sabha)

June 2010 : Re-elected to Rajya Sabha in June, 2010 from Karnataka (3rd term)

2011 (Dec) – 2014 (May) : Parliamentary Forum on Disaster Management

26 May 2014 onwards: Minister for Urban Development, Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation and Parliamentary Affairs.

June, 2016 – Re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan (4th term)

6th July, 2016 onwards: Minister for Urban Development, Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation, and Information and Broadcasting.