Stay Tuned! Who will be the next President of India?
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 20-Jul-2017

New Delhi, July 20: The counting of votes for the presidential polls held on Monday will begin at 11 am today, with the results to be out by 5 pm. Firstly, the ballot box of Parliament House would be opened, followed by those of the states in an alphabetical order.

The President is elected by an electoral college comprising elected members of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and state legislative assemblies. The votes would be counted on 4 separate tables and there would be 8 rounds of counting. NDA candidate Ramnath Kovind and Opposition candidate Meira Kumar are in the fray for the top constitutional post.

The Election was held on 17th of this month and around 99 per cent voting was recorded. Out of 771 Member of Parliament of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha 768 cast their votes while of 4100 state legislators, 4075 excercised their franchise.

The numbers are in favour of the ruling coalition's nominee Ram Nath Kovind, a former Bihar governor, over the opposition's candidate Meira Kumar. The candidate who secures at least one vote more than 50 per cent of the total votes will enter into the Rashtrapati Bhavan. The term of present incumbent Pranab Mukherjee comes to an end on the 24th of this month.

Counting update after 1st round:

- 60683 votes

- 22941 votes 

gets 1,389 votes with value of 479585, 11 states

gets 576 with value of 20,4594 after counting in Parl House, 11 states


Ram Nath Kovind


            Meira Kumar       


Born October 1, 1945             

Born on March 31, 1945

He was born Born in Kanpur Dehat district, Uttar Pradesh        

She was born in Arrah district, Bihar

He was the Governor of Bihar from 2015 to 2017          

She was elected unopposed as the first woman Speaker of Lok Sabha and served from 2009 to 2014.

He was a lawyer who practised in the Delhi High Court and the Supreme Court for 16 years          

She is also a lawyer and former diplomat

The Dalit leader first stepped into politics in 1994 when he was elected as a Rajya Sabha member from Uttar Pradesh. He served for two consecutive terms for 12 years till March, 2006.  

Meira Kumar entered electoral politics in 1985. She was elected from Bijnor in Uttar Pradesh, defeating two Dalit   leaders Ram Vilas Paswan and Mayawati. She lost her     seat in 1999. Howeever, she was re-elected with a majority from Sasaram in Bihar in 2004 and 2009

Kovind served as a member of the Board of Management of Dr. B.R Ambedkar University, Lucknow. He was also a member of the Board of Governors of Indian Institute of Management, Kolkata.

She is the daughter of freedom fighter and former deputy PM Jagjivan Ram

Being the NDA candidate, he enjoys the support of BJP and its allies, Shiv Sena and PDP. The JD(U) and both the factions of AIADMK have also pledged support.       

17 parties including Congress, Left, NCP, RJD and DMK have come out in support of Meira Kumar

He represented India in the United Nations in New York and addressed United Nations General Assembly in October, 2002.          

She has been a part of India's Mission in Spain and United Kingdom