Goa State BJP Chief Vinay Tendulkar wins Rajya Sabha election
Source :News Bharati English   Date :21-Jul-2017

Panaji, July 21: With the support of 22 MLAs Goa BJP in-charge Vinay Tendulkar today won the election of Rajya Sabha seat by defeating Congress candidate Shantaram Naik. In a 40-member house, BJP minted 22 votes whereas Naik got 16 votes in the election held at the state Assembly complex. 

Embeded Object

Embeded ObjectExpressing happiness over his victory Tendulkar thanked all party legislators and alliance partners for supporting his candidature. “I am happy that my party legislators and alliance partners have supported me. I will work for the development of Goa,” said Tendulkar.

Embeded ObjectAccording to media reports, lone NCP MLA Churchill Alemao has supported the candidature of Tendulkar. Alemao had also backed NDA's Ram Nath Kovind in the presidential election held on 17 July.