Six Congress MPs suspended for creating ruckus in Parliament
 Source : News Bharati English  Date : 24-Jul-2017

New Delhi, July 24: Lok Sabha speaker Sumitra Mahajan has supended six MPs of the Opposition for creating ruckus in the House. Congress MP Gaurav Gogoi, Kodikunnil Suresh, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhary, Ranjeet Ranjan, Sushmita Dev and MK Raghavan have been suspended for 5 days for throwing papers and disrupting proceedings during zero hour.

The Lok Sabha witnessed uproar during the zero hour today when the Opposition members surged into the well and demanded the Prime Minister’s presence to discuss the incidents of lynching in the name of cow protection.

Congress members tore and flung papers on the Chair and raised slogans against the government. The Speaker's repeated appeals for calm went unheeded and she adjourned the House for lunch. The ruling party members demanded the re-opening of the Bofors case.Moreover, Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman PJ Kurien on Monday indicated that distortion and reporting of expunged remarks of a Samajwadi Party MP by certain media houses may be referred to the Privilege Committee.

Kurien said he had last week stated that media should not report anything expunged by the Chair from the records. And if the remarks of any member are distorted, it “amounts to breach of privilege” of the Member of Parliament, he said.

Notably, Last week, Samajwadi Party MP Naresh Agrawal’s controversial comments had been expunged by the Chair from records and he had asked the media not to report them.