CPI-M loses its number in Rajya Sabha; EC rejects Bikash Bhattacharya's nomination
Source :NewsBharati   Date :31-Jul-2017

Kolkata, July 31: Bengal CPI (M) has lost its ground in Bengal Politics. In Rajyasabha, Bengal CPI (M) is most probably not going to have any candidate as the nomination of CPI-M Rajya Sabha candidate Bikash Bhattacharya was rejected on Monday due to the late filing of nomination. On Friday, CPI (M) decided the name of Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharya, the former Kolkata Mayor. Now five Trinamool Congress and one Congress nominee will be declared uncontestedly selected for the Rajya Sabha. Bengal CPI (M) will not have any representative in Rajya Sabha.


The ground of cancellation of Bikash Bhattacharya was that he filed his nomination after 3 p.m. After a 2 hours hearing in the cabin of returning officer Jayanta Kole, the decision has been taken. The final scrutiny has regarded former Kolkata mayor’s nomination as invalid.

On 8th August Derek O'Brien, Sukhendu Sekhar Roy, Dola Sen, Manas Bhunia and Santa Chettri from TMC, Pradip Bhattacharya from Congress will represent Bengal in Rajya Sabha.

CPIM termed this as a political conspiracy. "It was pre-decided it will be canceled. Trinamool was rattled by Bikash Bhattacharya's candidature... That it took 48 hours to take the decision proves there was a lot of merit in our arguments.", CPIM Leader Sujan Chakraborty said.

CPI (M) has decided to go to court. The leaders are claiming to take legal advice.