BJP sweeps Mira-Bhayander polls, improves tally from 29 to 61
Source :NewsBharati   Date :21-Aug-2017


Mumbai, Aug 21: Breaking all previous records, Bharatiya Janata Party won the plot of high stake Mira-Bhayander Municipal Corporation with 61 seats in their kitty. Under the dynamic leadership of Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadanvis, the ruling party outnumbered all the opponents and emerged as the majority party. Bagging second position Shiv Sena managed to get 22 seats while the Congress party ended up with 10 seats only.

Around 47 per cent of voters cast their votes in Mira-Bhayander Municipal Corporation election held on Sunday. The BJP-Shiv Sena combine is currently ruling the Mira-Bhayander Municipal Corporation, but for the first time, both parties contested polls on their own.

In 2012 the BJP had won 29 seats, while the NCP came in second with 27 seats. BJP had fielded 90 candidates while its ally RPI (A) contested on four seats whereas Shiv Sena fielded all 94 candidates. A total of 509 candidates were in the fray for 94 seats.

Expressing happiness over the path-breaking victory Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadanvis thanked people of Mira-Bhayander for the stupendous success in the local body polls.