Nagaland CM files disqualification petition against 10MLAs for remaining absent in House despite being full aware
Source :NewsBharati   Date :05-Aug-2017

Kohima, 5 August: Taking cognizance of absentees in the House which was held on July 19 despite informing the members, Chief Minister TR Zeliang filed a Disqualification petition against 10 MLAs for choosing to remain absent from the House session held on July 19 despite an official communication being rendered to them.


In a petition which was received by the office of the Speaker, Nagaland Legislative Assembly on Friday, Zeliang stated that the 10 NPF MLAs be declared as disqualified under paragraph 2(1) (b) of the Tenth Schedule as all these ten NFP MLAs absented themselves from attending the sitting of the House held on July 19 contrary to the direction issued to them and received by them.

The 10 MLAs included — Kiyanilie Peseyie, Y. Vikheho Swu, Chotisuh Sazo, Kuzholuzo Nienu, Yitachu, C.L. John,. Thonwang Konyak, P. Longon, R. Tohanba and. Torech. CM stated that the ten NPF legislators were fully aware of the sitting of the House and they were to attend the House invariably on July 19 as proper communication was rendered to them.

“However, the ten NPF Legislators had acted contrary to the direction issued by him on July 18 as the NPF Whip and as well as for acting contrary to the communication allegedly issued by MLA Kiyanilie Peseyie, on the same date, asking the NPF MLAs to be present in the House on July 19. As such, these ten NPF MLAs had violated the Whip as well as the communication, therefore they are liable for disqualification under paragraph (2)(1)(b) of the Ten Schedule”, Zeliang stated.