NITI Aayog to partner with 6 states in transforming their ‘Health and Education’ sectors
Source :NewsBharati   Date :09-Aug-2017
New Delhi, August 9: National Institution for Transforming India (NITI Aayog) on 8th August announced its partnership with 6 states to bring in transformative change in Health and Education sectors under its ‘Sustainable Action for Transforming Human Capital (SATH) initiative. Uttar Pradesh, Assam and Karnataka were shortlisted under the SATH initiative to transform their healthcare sector. On the other hand, three states namely- Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand and Odisha were selected to transform their education sector. 

To give major push to competitive, cooperative federalism, the government think tank had invited all states and Union Territories to participate in its SATH initiative to transform Health and Education sectors. States then made presentations for each sector which was assessed by a committee comprised of senior members of NITI Aayog and Health and Human Resources Development ministries.
The States highlighted the initiatives undertaken by them and their willingness to accelerate improvement. On thorough technical evaluation, the chosen states have committed to time-bound, governance reforms in both sectors.
A Program Management Unit to push for efficiency and efficacy in governance structures and service delivery will now be available in the six chosen States for a period of 30 months. It is expected that these three years of focussed attention and support from the premier think tank will lead to a marked transformation and also provide a model for other States to replicate and adapt.
SATH program- Furthering the agenda for cooperative federalism, NITI Aayog on 10 June 2017 launched SATH, a program providing ‘Sustainable Action for Transforming Human Capital (SATH) initiative with the state governments. 
The vision of the program seeks to initiate transformation in the Health and Education sectors. It addresses the need expressed by states for technical support from NITI Aayog. 
Three-way partnership for selection:
To select three model states, NITI defined a three-stage process and they include,
• Expression of interest
• Presentation by the states
• Assessment of commitment to health sector reforms