#CabinetReshuffle: Nirmala Sitharaman is our new Defence Minister; Piyush Goyal gets railways
 Source : NewsBharati  Date : 03-Sep-2017

New Delhi, September 3: In a surprising move, Nirmala Sitharaman has been appointed as the new Defence Minister, while Suresh Prabhu will replace her as the Commerce Minister. 

Sitharaman, who was minister of state for commerce is seen to have gained in confidence in handling the ministry. She was recently in China for a BRICS meeting and she engaged in discussion on Doklam with her counterparts.
This is brilliant move. A JNU alumni Nirmala Seetharaman is tough, knows very well how to handle defense lobbyists in media. It's going to be nightmare for media chores. 
Power minister Piyush Goyal has been given charge of the Railways Ministry, replacing Suresh Prabhu, who had offered to resign after a spate of train accidents last month. Goyal’s elevation is said to be on the back of his impeccable performance as Power Minister, during which he conducted scam-free auctions in coal.
Smriti Irani, who held the additional charge after the elevation of Venkaiah Naidu as the Vice-President of India, will now retain the I&B portfolio. However, India is likely to get a new textiles minister.

Uma Bharti, who held the water resources and Namame Gange ministry since 2014, will now be the new drinking water and sanitation minister. Bharti did not attend the swearing-in ceremony on Sunday as she was in Lalitpur, Varanasi.

Meanwhile, Dharmendra Pradhan, who had the independent charge of the oil and petroleum ministry, will now be the new skill development minister, replacing Rajiv Pratap Rudy.

RK Singh, the former home secretary, will now hold the independent charge of the power ministry, which was earlier handled by Piyush Goyal, who has got a promotion as the new railway minister.

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Dharmendra Pradhan, Nirmala Sitharaman and Piyush Goyal were elevated to Cabinet rank and nine fresh faces inducted as ministers of state in a major rejig of his team by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday.

The new ministers of the PM Modi cabinet have taken oath at the President House. The swearing-in was administered by President Ram Nath Kovind. The 9 new faces include Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Shiv Paratap Shukla, Virendra Kumar, Anantkumar Hegde, Raj Kumar Singh, Hardeep Singh Puri, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Satya Pal Singh, and Alphons Kannanthanam.