Announcing the Assembly Election bugle; EC announces election dates for 5 states, to begin from Nov 12
Source :NewsBharati   Date :06-Oct-2018

New Delhi, October 6: Announcing the bugle for Assembly Elections, the Election Commission on Saturday chalked dates for the five states namely Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram. The election will begin from November 12 and the results will be out on December 11. The model code of conduct, imposing restrictions for free and fair elections, was enforced as the announcement was made by Election Commissioner OP Rawat.


The states which will hold one phase election include, Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram which will vote on November 28.

Rajasthan and Telangana, where Chief Minister KCR dissolved the assembly to call for early polls, will vote on December 7.

Elections in Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases. Phase one of state election in southern Chhattisgarh will be held on November 12. The second phase of elections will be held on November 20.

Results for the elections in all the five states will be announced on December 11.

The Election Commissioner O P Rawat said that Chief secretary of Tamil Nadu wrote to Election Commission and said that there is forecast of cyclones, rain and requested commission to not announce the dates yet.

The model of conduct will come into effect for four states from today, while Rajasthan needs an extension of one day. Commission has started setting up voter assistant booths. The polls will be conducted in every polling station before the start of polls. Model code of conduct applies with immediate effect for all states going to polls, including Telangana, where there is a caretaker government.