Second time in a row, Telangana chooses K Chandrashekhar Rao as the Chief Minister
Source :NewsBharati   Date :13-Dec-2018

Hyderabad, December 13: The recent Assembly Elections in Telangana made it crystal clear whom the people wanted as their Chief Minister. Second time in a row, Kalvakuntla Chandrasekhar Rao, popularly known as KCR, was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Telangana. The oath was administered by the governor Governor ESL Narasimhan.


CM K Chandrashekhar Rao is likely to set up his Council of Ministers in a day or two. TRS emerged victorious in the Telangana Assembly elections on Tuesday, bagging 88 seats in the state assembly of 119-member.

CM Rao, commonly known as KCR won from Gajewal constituency by over 50,000 votes while TRS candidate Talasani Srinivas Yadav, a minister in Rao`s last government won from Sanath Nagar constituency by 30,217 votes.

Prajakutami, an alliance of the Congress and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) won 21 seats while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged only one seat. All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) won 7 seats.

On December 7, single-phase elections were held in Telangana, wherein 73.2 per cent voter turnout was recorded.